MyNation KnowledgeBase

Landmark Judgments and Articles on Law

Register to Download


Name Year Territorial establishment jurisdiction Seat
Bombay 1862 Maharashtra, Goa, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu Bombay (Benches at Nagpur, Panaji and Aurangabad)
Calcutta 1862 West Bengal Calcutta (Circuit Bench at Port Blair)
Madras 1862 Tamil Nadu & Pondicherry Madras
Allahabad 1866 Uttar Pradesh Allahabad (Bench at Lucknow)
Karnataka(1) 1884 Karnataka Bangalore
Patna 1916 Bihar Patna (Bench at Ranchi)
Jammu & Kashmir 1928 Jammu & Kashmir Srinagar & Jammu
Guwahati(2) 1948 Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Nagaland,Tripura, Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh Guwahati (Benches at Kohima, Aizwal & Imphal. Circuit Bench at Agartala &
Orissa 1948 Orissa Cuttack
Rajasthan 1949 Rajasthan Jodhpur (Bench at Jaipur)
Andhra Pradesh 1956 Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad
Madhya Pradesh 1956 Madhya Pradesh Jabalpur (Benches at Gwalior and Indore)
Kerala 1958 Kerala & Lakshadweep Ernakulam
Gujarat 1960 Gujarat Ahmedabad
Delhi 1966 Delhi Delhi
Himachal Pradesh 1971 Himachal Pradesh Shimla
Punjab & Haryana(3) 1975 Punjab, Haryana & Chandigarh Chandigarh
Sikkim 1975 Sikkim Gangtok


1. Originally known as Mysore High Court, renamed as Karnataka High Court in 1973.

2. Originally known as the Assam High Court, renamed as Guwahati High Court in 1971.

3. Originally known as Punjab High Court, renamed as Punjab & Haryana High Court in 1966.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2018 MyNation KnowledgeBase
eXTReMe Tracker

Free Legal Help just WhatsApp Away

MyNation HELP line

We are Not Lawyers but No Lawyer will give you Advice like We do

Please CLICK HERE to read Rules of Group, If You agree then Message us on Above Number.

We handle Women centric biased laws like False 498A, Domestic Violence(DVACT), Divorce, Maintenance, Alimony, Child Custody, HMA24, 125 CrPc, 307, 313, 376, 377, 406, 420, 506, 509 etc

Web Design BangladeshWeb Design BangladeshMymensingh