Laws and Bare Acts of India at

MyNation Foundation Online Law Library

The Special Marriage Act, 1954

The Special Marriage Act, 1954





Chapter I Preliminary
1 Short Title, Extent and Commencement.
2 Definitions.
3 Marriage Officers.
     Chapter II Solemnization of Special Marriages
4 Conditions relating to solemnization of special marriages.
5 Notice of intended marriage.
6 Marriage Notice Book and publication.
7 Objection to marriage.
8 Procedure on receipt of objection.
9 Powers of Marriage Officers in respect of inquiries.
10 Procedure on receipt of objection by Marriage Officer abroad.
11 Declaration by parties and witnesses.
12 Place and form of solemnization.
13 Certificate of marriage.
14 New notice when marriage not solemnized within three months.
Chapter III Registration of Marriages celebrated in other forms
15 Registration of marriages celebrated in other forms.
16 Procedure of registration.
17 Appeals from orders under section 16.
18 Effect of registration of marriage under this Chapter.
Chapter IV Consequences of Marriage under this Act
19 Effect of marriage on member of undivided family.
20 Rights and disabilities not affected by Act.
21 Succession to property of parties married
under Act.
Chapter V Restitution of Conjugal rights and judicial separation
22 Restitution of conjugal rights.
23 Judicial separation.
Chapter VI Nullity of marriage and divorce
24 Void marriages.
25 Voidable marriage.
26 Legitimacy of children of void and voidable marriage.
27 Divorce.
28 Divorce by mutual consent.
29 Restriction on petitions for divorce during first three years after marriage.
30 Remarriage of divorced persons.
Chapter VII Jurisdiction and Procedure
31 Court to which petition should be made.
32 Contents and verification of petitions.
33 Proceedings may be in camera.
34 Duty of court in passing decrees.
35 Relief to respondent on petition for divorce.
36 Alimony pendent lite.
37 Permanent alimony and maintenance.
38 Custody to Children.
39 Enforcement of and appeal from decrees and orders.
40 Application of Act V of 1908.
41 Power of High Court to make rules regulating procedure.
Chapter VIII Miscellaneous
42 Saving.
43 Penalty on married person marrying again under this Act.
44 Punishment of bigamy.

Penalty for signing false declaration or certificate.

46 Penalty for wrongful action of Marriage Officer.
47 Marriage Certificate Book to be open to inspection.
48 Transmission of copies of entries in marriage records.
49 Correction of errors.
50 Power to make rules.
51 Repeals and savings.
Schedule 1 Degrees of Prohibited relationship.
Schedule 2 Notice of Intended Marriage
Schedule 3 Declaration to be made by the bridegroom.
Schedule 4 Certificate of marriage.
Schedule 5 Certificate of marriage celebrated in other forms.


Indian Laws – Bare Acts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Copyright © 2022 Laws and Bare Acts of India at

Free Legal Help, Just WhatsApp Away

MyNation HELP line

We are Not Lawyers, but No Lawyer will give you Advice like We do

Please read Group Rules – CLICK HERE, If You agree then Please Register CLICK HERE and after registration  JOIN WELCOME GROUP HERE

We handle Women Centric biased laws like False Section 498A IPC, Domestic Violence(DV ACT), Divorce, Maintenance, Alimony, Child Custody, HMA 24, 125 CrPc, 307, 312, 313, 323, 354, 376, 377, 406, 420, 497, 506, 509; TEP, RTI and many more…

MyNation FoundationMyNation FoundationMyNation Foundation